The Old Broken Staircase

Waleed Ahmed
3 min readSep 6, 2023

The old staircase in my childhood home was a source of both fascination and fear for me. Its wooden steps creaked and groaned with each ascent, seemingly on the brink of collapse. As a child, I often envisioned a terrifying tumble through the fragile structure. Despite my trepidation, I knew that the day had come when I could no longer avoid the task of cleaning out the attic.

Summoning all my courage, I ascended the staircase, my heart pounding in my chest. The stairs felt steeper and more precarious than ever, and the groans grew louder with each step. My imagination ran wild, conjuring images of a dramatic collapse at any moment.

Still, I persevered. I had resolved not to let fear dictate my actions any longer. Finally, I reached the top of the staircase and entered the dimly lit attic.

Dust hung in the air, and the attic was filled with the scent of aged belongings. Boxes and furniture were scattered around, a jumbled mess of memories and forgotten treasures. As I took a few hesitant steps forward, I suddenly froze.

A faint sound reached my ears — a soft, sorrowful crying.

Turning slowly, I cast my gaze back down the staircase. There, at the foot of the stairs, sat a little girl. Tears streamed down her cheeks as she sat on the steps, her small form trembling.

--

--